I couldn’t stand the banality of Kira’s Blog so I changed the title. Crazy-NOS comes from a joke I made to my mother. For a long time it’s been apparent that I have some sort of developmental disability and some sort of mental illness but psychologists and doctors have had a hard time giving me an exact diagnosis. One professional would give me a certain diagnosis but then the next professional would decide that diagnosis was not accurate and suggest a new diagnosis. Then the next professional I saw after that would do the same thing. Several disability support programs and mental health facilities rejected me because they didn’t know what to do with someone like me.

There’s an autism spectrum disorder called Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified abbreviated as PDD-NOS. It’s diagnosed when someone is on the autism spectrum but does not meet all the criteria for any of the other more specific autism spectrum disorders. I told my mother I should be diagnosed as Crazy-NOS.

Leave a Reply

